Twizzle Talk

Skating & Mental Toughness

Leave a comment

An old skating acquaintance of mine posted this article on Facebook a few weeks ago and it really resonated with me. Written by former national and international competitor Katrina Hacker, the article talks about six things she has taken from her skating career and applied in the “real world.” She wrote:

“While I’m not convinced that sports are a perfect metaphor for real life, I do know that the simple mental techniques my sports psychologist taught me made me a stronger competitor, and that anyone can apply these techniques to realize better outcomes in school, work, relationships, and daily life.”

My favorite of the six was her advice to “only worry about the things you can control.” I tend to lean towards the control freak side of the spectrum, so this isn’t always easy for me. But it is definitely more possible because of the years I have spent on the ice. You can control how much you prepare, how much effort you put in, and so on, both on the ice and off. Some of the best advice I’ve received—and in turn advice that I tend to give—is to try your best, knowing that it is all anyone can ask of you.  I heard that at the boards before competitions and from my parents in pre-competition pep talks enough that I was able to internalize it, and now it is pretty much my go-to mantra. Whether it is a big project at work, working on my junior moves test, or pitching a freelance article, I keep this in mind to keep the fears of failing at bay.

Do you agree with any of Katrina’s six tips?

Author: Maura @ Twizzle Talk

I'm Maura, a figure skating superfan who loves to talk twizzles and everything else skating-related. I'm also an adult skater and learn-to-skate coach.

Leave a Reply

