Twizzle Talk

Grand Prix Final Predictions

6 Comments

I’m going to take a crack at some results predictions this week—we’ll see how my powers of intuition pan out once all is said and done at the Grand Prix Final!

Ladies

  1. Elena Radionova
  2. Elizaveta Tuktamisheva
  3. Anna Pogorilaya
  4. Ashley Wagner
  5. Julia Lipnitskaia
  6. Rika Hongo (replaced Gracie Gold, who withdrew due to injury)

 

Radionova broke 200 points at Trophee Eric Bombard and has looked super confident all season; she’ll likely take the title. If Gold were competing, I would have put her in 2nd or 3rd. Lipnitskaia could surprise us all, but if her confidence and consistency issues continue to plague her, I don’t see her on the podium. My sentimental heart wants Wagner to land all her triple-triples and grab a spot on the podium—we’ll see! All these ladies have scored in the 170–190 range at various points in the season, so it will be a battle.

Men

  1. Javier Fernandez
  2. Tatsuki Machida
  3. Maxim Kovtun
  4. Yuzuru Hanyu
  5. Takahito Mura
  6. Sergei Voronov

 

Hanyu is definitely the wild card at this event. He looked shaky coming off the collision injuries, so I have him down in 4th. Scores and consistency were all over the place for the men during the series, so it will come down to who can skate the cleanest performances.

Pairs

  1. Ksenia Stolbova and Fedor Klimov
  2. Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford
  3. Yuko Kavaguti and Alexander Smirnov
  4. Cheng Peng and Hao Zhang
  5. Wenjing Sui and Cong Han
  6. Xiaoyu Yu and Yang Jing

 

The throw quad could put Duhamel and Radford on the top step of the podium, but they haven’t landed it cleanly on the Grand Prix yet this year, so I went with the Russians in first. These two teams are closely matched, and I really enjoy their skating. It will be a fun competition to watch if they both bring their A-game.

Dance

  1. Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje
  2. Madison Chock and Evan Bates
  3. Maia and Alex Shibutani
  4. Gabriella Papadakis and Guillaume Cizeron
  5. Piper Gilles and Paul Poirier
  6. Elena Illinykh and Ruslan Zhiganshin

 

Weaver/Poje and Chock/Bates have had really similar scores throughout the season, so this is going to be a close one. I prefer Weaver/Poje’s short dance to Chock/Bates’ short dance, but this could definitely go either way. I love the style of Russians Illinykh and Zhiganshin, but I think they are still too new as a team to challenge here. It would certainly make things interesting going in to U.S. Nationals if the Shibutanis are able to beat countrymen Chock/Bates. I think the scores among all six teams will be close.

NBC isn’t showing this event on TV until next weekend, so keep up with all the results and live streaming over on Ice Network!

Author: Maura @ Twizzle Talk

I'm Maura, a figure skating superfan who loves to talk twizzles and everything else skating-related. I'm also an adult skater and learn-to-skate coach.

6 thoughts on “Grand Prix Final Predictions

  1. great predictions. mine’s pretty much the same, except for the men’s. i’m okay with javier winning, but i’d so much prefer tatsuki in front. it could be bias ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  2. I’m confused. Duhamel and Radford have landed the throw quad, 2 out of 4 times I believe. Is that a typo? She hasn’t landed it cleanly though.
    On the other hand I agree with all your predictions! ๐Ÿ™‚ except Chock and Bates, I’d place them off the podium for skating skills. I also think Maia and Alex are more talented than they are.

    Like

    • Hi Tia, thanks for pointing that out! They haven’t landed it cleanly on the Grand Prix circuit (stepped out of the landing at Skate Canada and a fall at NHK), which is what I was thinking, but I didn’t convey it very clearly in the post. I have edited the post to clarify.

      Nice ice dance assessment! I can definitely see that about Chock/Bates, and the Shibutanis skating is so smooth in comparison. We’ll see what happens!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Flashback Friday: Ashley Wagner | Twizzle Talk

  4. Pingback: Grand Prix Final Wrap Up | Twizzle Talk

Leave a Reply

