Twizzle Talk

Flashback Friday: Sasha 10 Years After Torino

1 Comment

Even though I keep putting 2015 on all my to-do lists and journal entries, it’s time for me to accept that it is 2016. Which also happens to be 10 years since the 2006 Olympics in Torino, Italy. What?!

It doesn’t feel like 10 years since I sat in my parents’ family room, inches from the TV, cheering on Sasha Cohen in her epic “Dark Eyes” gypsy short program and her (though imperfect) triumph of mental toughness to “Romeo and Juliet” in the free skate. But time has passed and a lot has changed for Cohen, the Olympic Silver Medalist in 2006 and a 2016 inductee into the U.S. Figure Skating Hall of Fame.

Forbes caught up with Cohen, for some reflecting on her skating career and the 10 years since Torino. My favorite excerpts from the four-part piece:

On being proud of her silver medal: “I had tears, but they were mixed. I had some tears of disappointment earlier [at not winning gold], but at the same time I was really proud. I think that was a pivotal day for me to be able to keep believing, to pick myself up when I didn’t know whether anything was still possible. It was very rewarding.”

On going back to school: “I’m going to school on my terms now, because I want to. I had a limited education. All my energy was diverted to sport. The people that shaped the world had just passed me by. That made me sad. I decided to not tour as much and make time to be a student full-time.”

You can read the entire thing, with links to all four parts, here, for this week’s Flashback Friday. Next week, our flashbacks with the U.S. Hall of Fame inductees continue: Belbin & Agosto are on deck.

Author: Maura @ Twizzle Talk

I'm Maura, a figure skating superfan who loves to talk twizzles and everything else skating-related. I'm also an adult skater and learn-to-skate coach.

One thought on “Flashback Friday: Sasha 10 Years After Torino

  1. Pingback: Flashback Friday: Belbin & Agosto in the Hall of Fame | Twizzle Talk

Leave a Reply

