Twizzle Talk

Flashback Friday: Belbin & Agosto in the Hall of Fame

Leave a comment

The 2016 class of the U.S. Figure Skating Hall of Fame is being inducted this weekend at the U.S. Championships, so let’s finish up my Flashback Friday series on the inductees (Evan Lysacek here, and Sasha Cohen from last week).

Olympic silver medalists and five-time U.S. ice dancing champions Tanith Belbin and Ben Agosto are the team that made me pay attention to ice dancing, to love the storytelling and appreciate the incredible power in the discipline. And to convince my middle school self that ice dancing was more than European teams in oddball, barely-there costumes, skating around like weirdos, to be honest. I’ve featured these two on Flashback Friday before, with my favorite of their exhibition programs. This week I’m going to turn it over to The Skating Lesson, and share their awesome interview with the team from November 2015:

At nearly two hours, it is a long one (I listened to it while multitasking and cleaning up my apartment). My favorite parts were their discussion of their emotions and nerves during the 2006 Torino Olympics. They talked about being so nervous they were asking themselves, “Why do we do this?! Why do we put ourselves through this?” I’m pretty sure every skater can relate to those pre-competition emotions, even if we’ve never been on such a grand scale as the Olympics. I love that commonality.

Author: Maura @ Twizzle Talk

I'm Maura, a figure skating superfan who loves to talk twizzles and everything else skating-related. I'm also an adult skater and learn-to-skate coach.

Leave a Reply

