Twizzle Talk

Favorite Program Music from Worlds 2016

Leave a comment

Lots of skaters will tell you that when they hear a song, they instantly see skating, or start imagining a program. I without a doubt fall in to that category, and have also been known to listen to skating program music on my headphones at work, or while I’m cleaning up around the house.

Props to my friend who recommended the “Ice Skating Melodies” channel on Amazon Prime music, and my longtime skating pal who found this magical YouTube channel, Gattokiller’s Figure Skating Music. The wonderful Gattokiller re-cuts and records the exact versions of skating programs, then shares them on his channel. Perfect for when I want to listen to Yuna Kim’s fabulous cut of “Les Mis” while also being productive and not distracted by her mesmerizing skating.

After going to Worlds, I had the skaters’ program music stuck in my head for the entire week following the competition. It also happened to be a big deadline week at my job, and the refrain of, “The show must go on,” from Ashley Wagner’s “Moulin Rouge” program was running around in my head as we wrapped up our next issue of the magazine right on schedule.

My favorite musical selections from Worlds 2016:

Ashley Wagner’s selections from “Moulin Rouge”
This is how you use lyrics in a skating program. I’ve never seen the movie, but I totally get the storyline and what Ashley is trying to convey because this is such a great cut of music (and because her portrayal is so awesome).

Yuzuru Hanyu’s “Seimei” by Shigeru Umebayashi
The way he hits each beat and note of the music is fantastic. The only time I was a little frustrated with the otherwise awesome crowd at Worlds was when people were clapping during this program. This powerful music is meant to be heard, not drowned out by people clapping along like it is some kind of pop song.

Anna Cappellini and Luca Lanotte, “La Dolce Vita”
This soundtrack is by Nino Rota, and his version of “Romeo and Juliet” also happens to be my favorite. I’m pretty much guaranteed to like a program set to Rota music, and this one is so much fun to watch.

Javier Fernandez’ “Guys and Dolls,” featuring “Luck Be a Lady” by Frank Sinatra
Who doesn’t love a little Sinatra? And Javi was holding the audience in the palm of his hand during this routine. Luck was on his side, for sure. I enjoyed how the lyrics came in towards the end of the program, like a culmination, rather than a distraction.

Evengia Medvedeva’s selections from “W.E.”
The movie “W.E.”—brainchild of Madonna—did not receive glowing reviews from the critics. It did, however, have an awesome soundtrack, which served as part of Medvedeva’s long program. This is on my “time to focus at work” playlist. I love how it is intense and dramatic without being too dark.

I’m looking forward to seeing some of these programs one more time at the Team Challenge Cup, but also can’t wait to see what these skaters choose as their follow-ups for next season!

Author: Maura @ Twizzle Talk

I'm Maura, a figure skating superfan who loves to talk twizzles and everything else skating-related. I'm also an adult skater and learn-to-skate coach.

Leave a Reply

